Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Brake 2019 Fleet Safety Awards: The complete winners list

Brake has revealed the winners of its 2019 Fleet Safety Awards, which saw a host of UK fleet operators – large and small – and fleet service firms recognised for their work to improve road safety.

Part of Brake’s Global Fleet Champions initiative, the awards were presented at a ceremony held last Thursday 19 September at the Hilton Metropole in Birmingham.

Winners included British Gas with the Company Driver Safety Award (large fleet) while Royal Mail Group took the Sustainable Journeys Award.

Rory Morgan, head of logistics support – Western Europe at Iron Mountain, was once again named Brake’s Road Risk Manager of the Year, following his 2017 win, while Alison Moriarty, risk director at Arriva Bus, took the Kevin Storey Award for Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety.

The full list of 2019 Fleet Safety Award winners is:

Company Driver Safety Award (small fleet), sponsored by Fleetmaster

McGinley Support Services Ltd

Company Driver Safety Award (medium fleet), sponsored by Fleetmaster


Company Driver Safety Award (large fleet), sponsored by Fleetmaster

British Gas

Sustainable Journeys Award, sponsored by DriveTech

Royal Mail Group

Dr Will Murray Award for Analysis and Action, sponsored by e-Driving Fleet

Smart Witness

Fleet Safety Innovation Award

The Driving Doctor

Fleet Safety Partnership Award, sponsored by Vision Track

MiX Telematics and Wincanton

Fleet Safety Product Award, sponsored by Ocado Foundation

Brite Angle

In-vehicle product

Wheely Safe

Road Safety in the Community Award, sponsored by Trimble


Safe Vehicles Award, sponsored by Trakm8

Go Plant Fleet Services

Road Risk Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by Licence Bureau

Rory Morgan – Iron Mountain

Kevin Storey Award for Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety, sponsored by Arriva

Alison Moriarty – Arriva Bus


Sarah Plumb, senior fleet officer at Brake, said: “We were thrilled to receive so many strong entries again this year, with organisations and individuals doing brilliant work to make our roads safer for everyone. Thank you to everyone who attended the awards and a huge congratulations to the winners and highly commended entrants.”

Written by Natalie Middleton

Natalie has worked as a fleet journalist for nearly 20 years, previously as assistant editor on the former Company Car magazine before joining Fleet World in 2006. Prior to this, she worked on a range of B2B titles, including Insurance Age and Insurance Day. As Business Editor, Natalie ensures the group websites and newsletters are updated with the latest news.

842 posts